When breath becomes air / (Record no. 14967)

000 -LEADER
fixed length control field 06562cam a2200529 a 4500
001 - CONTROL NUMBER
control field 18828524
003 - CONTROL NUMBER IDENTIFIER
control field OSt
005 - DATE AND TIME OF LATEST TRANSACTION
control field 20190617162400.0
008 - FIXED-LENGTH DATA ELEMENTS--GENERAL INFORMATION
fixed length control field 151022s2016 nyua f 000 0beng d
010 ## - LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CONTROL NUMBER
LC control number 2015023815
020 ## - INTERNATIONAL STANDARD BOOK NUMBER
International Standard Book Number 9780812988406
020 ## - INTERNATIONAL STANDARD BOOK NUMBER
International Standard Book Number 081298840X
035 ## - SYSTEM CONTROL NUMBER
System control number (OCoLC)ocn936184008
040 ## - CATALOGING SOURCE
Original cataloging agency E3U
Transcribing agency UERMMMCI
Modifying agency Medical Center Library
042 ## - AUTHENTICATION CODE
Authentication code lccopycat
050 00 - LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CALL NUMBER
Classification number RC 280 .L8
Item number K35 2016
100 1# - MAIN ENTRY--PERSONAL NAME
Personal name Kalanithi, Paul,
Relator term author.
245 10 - TITLE STATEMENT
Title When breath becomes air /
Statement of responsibility, etc. Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
250 ## - EDITION STATEMENT
Edition statement First edition.
264 #1 - PRODUCTION, PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, MANUFACTURE, AND COPYRIGHT NOTICE
Place of production, publication, distribution, manufacture New York :
Name of producer, publisher, distributor, manufacturer Random House,
Date of production, publication, distribution, manufacture, or copyright notice [2016]
264 #4 - PRODUCTION, PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, MANUFACTURE, AND COPYRIGHT NOTICE
Date of production, publication, distribution, manufacture, or copyright notice ©2016.
300 ## - PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION
Extent xix, 228 pages :
Other physical details illustration ;
Dimensions 20 cm
336 ## - CONTENT TYPE
Content type term text
Content type code txt
Source rdacontent
337 ## - MEDIA TYPE
Media type term unmediated
Media type code n
Source rdamedia
338 ## - CARRIER TYPE
Carrier type term volume
Carrier type code nc
Source rdacarrier
505 0# - FORMATTED CONTENTS NOTE
Formatted contents note Foreword / by Abraham Verghese -- Prologue -- In perfect health I begin -- Cease not till death -- Epilogue / by Lucy Kalanithi.
520 ## - SUMMARY, ETC.
Summary, etc. "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--
Assigning source Provided by publisher.
520 ## - SUMMARY, ETC.
Summary, etc. "At the age of 36, on the verge of a completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi's health began to falter. He started losing weight and was wracked by waves of excruciating back pain. A CT scan confirmed what Paul, deep down, had suspected: he had stage four lung cancer, widely disseminated. One day, he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next, he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined, the culmination of decades of striving, evaporated. With incredible literary quality, philosophical acuity, and medical authority, When Breath Becomes Air approaches the questions raised by facing mortality from the dual perspective of the neurosurgeon who spent a decade meeting patients in the twilight between life and death, and the terminally ill patient who suddenly found himself living in that liminality. At the base of Paul's inquiry are essential questions, such as: What makes life worth living in the face of death? What happens when the future, instead of being a ladder toward the goals of life, flattens out into a perpetual present? When faced with a terminal diagnosis, what does it mean to have a child, to nuture a new life as another one fades away? As Paul wrote, "Before my cancer was diagnosed, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. After the diagnosis, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. But now I knew it acutely. The problem wasn't really a scientific one. The fact of death is unsettling. Yet there is no other way to live." Paul Kalanithi passed away in March 2015, while working on this book"--
Assigning source Provided by publisher.
520 ## - SUMMARY, ETC.
Summary, etc. On the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. Kalanithi chronicles his transformation from a naïve medical student into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
521 ## - TARGET AUDIENCE NOTE
Target audience note Doctor of Medicine
600 10 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--PERSONAL NAME
Personal name Kalanithi, Paul
General subdivision Health.
650 #0 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element Lungs
General subdivision Cancer
-- Patients
Geographic subdivision United States
Form subdivision Biography.
650 #0 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element Neurosurgeons
Form subdivision Biography.
650 #0 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element Husband and wife.
650 #7 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs.
Source of heading or term bisacsh
650 #7 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element MEDICAL / General.
Source of heading or term bisacsh
650 #7 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name entry element SOCIAL SCIENCE / Death & Dying.
Source of heading or term bisacsh
655 #7 - INDEX TERM--GENRE/FORM
Genre/form data or focus term Biographies.
Source of term lcgft
700 1# - ADDED ENTRY--PERSONAL NAME
Personal name Verghese, A.
Fuller form of name (Abraham),
Dates associated with a name 1955-
Relator term writer of foreword.
856 42 - ELECTRONIC LOCATION AND ACCESS
Materials specified Cover image
Uniform Resource Identifier 9780812988406.jpg
856 42 - ELECTRONIC LOCATION AND ACCESS
Materials specified Contributor biographical information
Uniform Resource Identifier http://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1606/2015023815-b.html
856 42 - ELECTRONIC LOCATION AND ACCESS
Materials specified Publisher description
Uniform Resource Identifier http://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1606/2015023815-d.html
856 41 - ELECTRONIC LOCATION AND ACCESS
Materials specified Sample text
Uniform Resource Identifier https://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1613/2015023815-s.html
906 ## - LOCAL DATA ELEMENT F, LDF (RLIN)
a 7
b cbc
c copycat
d 2
e epcn
f 20
g y-gencatlg
942 ## - ADDED ENTRY ELEMENTS (KOHA)
Source of classification or shelving scheme
Koha item type Circulation Books
Holdings
Withdrawn status Lost status Source of classification or shelving scheme Damaged status Not for loan Permanent Location Current Location Shelving location Date acquired Source of acquisition Total Checkouts Total Renewals Full call number Barcode Date last seen Date last checked out Price effective from Koha item type
          Medical Center Library Medical Center Library Circulation COM 2019-06-17 Purchased - Mokai 5 3 RC 280 .L8 K35 2016 014287 2019-09-05 2019-08-28 2019-06-17 Circulation Books