000 06562cam a2200529 a 4500
999 _c14967
_d14967
001 18828524
003 OSt
005 20190617162400.0
008 151022s2016 nyua f 000 0beng d
010 _a 2015023815
020 _a9780812988406
020 _a081298840X
035 _a(OCoLC)ocn936184008
040 _aE3U
_cUERMMMCI
_dMedical Center Library
042 _alccopycat
050 0 0 _aRC 280 .L8
_bK35 2016
100 1 _aKalanithi, Paul,
_eauthor.
245 1 0 _aWhen breath becomes air /
_cPaul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
250 _aFirst edition.
264 1 _aNew York :
_bRandom House,
_c[2016]
264 4 _c©2016.
300 _axix, 228 pages :
_billustration ;
_c20 cm
336 _atext
_btxt
_2rdacontent
337 _aunmediated
_bn
_2rdamedia
338 _avolume
_bnc
_2rdacarrier
505 0 _aForeword / by Abraham Verghese -- Prologue -- In perfect health I begin -- Cease not till death -- Epilogue / by Lucy Kalanithi.
520 _a"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--
_cProvided by publisher.
520 _a"At the age of 36, on the verge of a completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi's health began to falter. He started losing weight and was wracked by waves of excruciating back pain. A CT scan confirmed what Paul, deep down, had suspected: he had stage four lung cancer, widely disseminated. One day, he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next, he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined, the culmination of decades of striving, evaporated. With incredible literary quality, philosophical acuity, and medical authority, When Breath Becomes Air approaches the questions raised by facing mortality from the dual perspective of the neurosurgeon who spent a decade meeting patients in the twilight between life and death, and the terminally ill patient who suddenly found himself living in that liminality. At the base of Paul's inquiry are essential questions, such as: What makes life worth living in the face of death? What happens when the future, instead of being a ladder toward the goals of life, flattens out into a perpetual present? When faced with a terminal diagnosis, what does it mean to have a child, to nuture a new life as another one fades away? As Paul wrote, "Before my cancer was diagnosed, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. After the diagnosis, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. But now I knew it acutely. The problem wasn't really a scientific one. The fact of death is unsettling. Yet there is no other way to live." Paul Kalanithi passed away in March 2015, while working on this book"--
_cProvided by publisher.
520 _aOn the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. Kalanithi chronicles his transformation from a naïve medical student into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
521 _aMD
600 1 0 _aKalanithi, Paul
_xHealth.
650 0 _aLungs
_xCancer
_xPatients
_zUnited States
_vBiography.
650 0 _aNeurosurgeons
_vBiography.
650 0 _aHusband and wife.
650 7 _aBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs.
_2bisacsh
650 7 _aMEDICAL / General.
_2bisacsh
650 7 _aSOCIAL SCIENCE / Death & Dying.
_2bisacsh
655 7 _aBiographies.
_2lcgft
700 1 _aVerghese, A.
_q(Abraham),
_d1955-
_ewriter of foreword.
856 4 2 _3Cover image
_u9780812988406.jpg
856 4 2 _3Contributor biographical information
_uhttp://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1606/2015023815-b.html
856 4 2 _3Publisher description
_uhttp://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1606/2015023815-d.html
856 4 1 _3Sample text
_uhttps://www.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1613/2015023815-s.html
906 _a7
_bcbc
_ccopycat
_d2
_eepcn
_f20
_gy-gencatlg
942 _2lcc
_cCIRC